How to hit far away, fast-moving targets

C

Comments

Hi all! I'm rather new here (I'm no pro) but I found a trick recently that really helps me when sniping. I wanted to share it and ask if this is a method commonly used by other players.

I play mostly glass cannons (Strv S1, Borsig, and the like) that are meant for sniping, so this might not happen to everyone, but I figured that anyone who has ever tried to shoot a quickly moving tank from 450+ meters away knows the pain of missing horribly, despite taking the time to stop, completely aim your gun, and lead your target perfectly. Trying to hit a B-C 12 t moving 60+km/h at that distance? Just plain stupid. However, in the instance that you're sniping, have no other valuable targets, and really need to get rid of a scout that's distracting your team- sometimes you just gotta shoot it.
I've found that in such engagements, it pays off to use auto-aim (right click the target) and wait for the opponent to be travelling directly towards or away from you. It's fairly simple:

Sorry, I dropped out of MSPaint university...
Point is, the red square represents a moving enemy light tank, the green square is you, the blue lines and circles represent your line of sight and reticle when trying to lead the target (with auto-aim off), and the green line and circle is your reticle when using auto-aim and waiting for the tank to be facing you. When choosing to lead the target, you create a lot of room for error that is destined to fail you (RNG, shell velocity, light tank randomness, etc.) However, when you click auto-aim on the target and wait for them to face you, you mitigate a lot of the RNG and drastically improve your chances of landing a shell into them.